## **Report of Personnel Policy Committee, 2014-15 Academic Year:**

Committee co-chairs: Tommy Holden, Leda Lunardi

**Committee members:** Jason Allaire, David Baumer, Fred Cubbage, Juliana Nfah-Abbenyi, and Michael Steer. Most meetings included Betsy Brown as a participant.

Completed business:

(1) The PPC invited Laura Severin, special assistant to the Provost for Academic Planing, to give an update on the Cluster Hiring, the review process and the plan for AY 2014-2015. The report included faculty grant, laboratory allocation, retention and compensation relative to other faculty hiring since the program started at NC State.

(2) The PPC formulated and brought forward a resolution recognizing the work done by Betsy Brown during her tenure at NC State as VP for Faculty Affairs upon her retirement. The resolution was approved by the Faculty Senate.

(3) The PPC invited and heard from Joe Williams (director of the Employees Benefits and Programs) about the Appropriations Act of 2009 (established for the State of North Carolina repealing the over 65 tuition waiver program at all UNC Systems schools, and in response to an email forward to the PPC by Chancellor Woodson). While in 2015 the tuition waiver program has been extended to three classes per academic year once again for eligible staff and faculty, the UNC System does not have legislative authority to change the AA 2009. This has been closed.

(4) One issue of concern brought from last year was related to the formation of an Academy of Outstanding Researchers/Scholars, but in the absence of a specific proposal by the original proposers, and in the lack of any interest parties it has been closed.

(5) Jeff Joines and Betsy Brown discussed the teaching evaluation and peer review section of the dossier. Updates and suggestions were discussed with the committee to make the evaluations more expedient and useful as well as user friendly for incorporating into the dossier. The committee suggests an update of the process next year.

(6) The PPC formulated and brought forward a resolution regarding "Board of Governors Award to include Non-Tenure Track Faculty". The objective is to amend and expand existing award to include full time non tenure track faculty that are already eligible for on campus teaching awards into the Board of Governors Award of Excellence in Teaching. The resolution is to be voted by the Faculty Senate (4/24).

(7) Committee members discussed document involving REG 05.20.04 Post Tenure Review of Faculty brought to the PPC by Betsy Brown because of the new policy by BoG: a proposed revision is under discussion at the time this report was written.

(8) The PPC met with Donna Johnson, University Program Specialist, to review and make recommendations regarding memberships of the various standing committees for the 2015-2016 academic year.)

Finally, a number of other possible issues were discussed but not completed, including inadequate DSO facilities, which result in additional loads being placed on teaching faculty to meet DSO requirements and tuition scholarships with Brian Sischo. These items can be continued at PPC meetings next year.